Boehner Names Republicans For Benghazi Panel

(Washington, DC) -- GOP House Speaker John Boehner is naming Republicans for the new select committee on Benghazi. South Carolina's Trey Gowdy is chairing the panel. Other Republicans are Indiana's Susan Brooks, Ohio's Jim Jordan, Alabama's Martha Roby, Georgia's Lynn Westmoreland, Mike Pompeo from Kansas and Peter Roskam from Illinois. Democrats have not decided whether to participate in the select committee.
House Democratic leader Nancy Pelosi called the panel a political stunt ahead of November's midterm elections. Republicans insist a special panel is necessary to get to the bottom of the 2012 terror attack on the U.S. consulate in Benghazi, Libya. Four Americans were killed, including Ambassador Chris Stevens.