Not for broadcast -- please post () —

News Directors, Contest Coordinators:

The 2013 APTRA Awards are now open for entries. Television and radio stations and their employees are eligible to enter the APTRA Awards if the station subscribes to The Associated Press and is located in Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington or Wyoming.

The entry deadline is Monday, Feb. 24, 2014, at 9 p.m. Pacific time. Winners will be announced on the AP wire and the APTRA website and winners will receive their trophies by mail.

For contest categories, rules and to enter online, go to www.aptra.org .

New this year:

The Associated Press Television-Radio Association is reducing the cost for entries for the next year's APTRA Awards.

Entries for class 1 television stations will be $75 each

Entries for class 2 television stations will be $50 each

Entries for class 1 radio stations will be $50 each

Entries for class 2 radio stations will be $25 each

Student entries will be $25 each

Market size is determined by Nielsen or Arbitron market ranking. Stations in markets 1-50 are considered class 1 stations and stations in markets 51 and above are considered class 2 stations.

For more information, go to www.aptra.org or contact AP West Broadcast Editor Chris Havlik at chavlik@ap.org.

-The AP